Being a Black Woman at Boyband Shows: Navigating Alienation and Belonging

Samantha Jackson
3 min readJun 14, 2023
The GOATs: New Kids on the Block

As a Black woman who loves boybands, attending shows like Big Time Rush, New Kids on the Block, and O-Town has been a bittersweet experience. While I am grateful to have the opportunity to see some of my favorite artists perform, being one of the few Black women among a sea of white fans can feel incredibly alienating. Despite this, I always try to maintain a positive attitude and not let my discomfort show.

Me with Joey McIntyre of NKOTB in June 2011

It wasn’t until I attended the New Edition concert in April 2023 that I truly understood what I had been missing. Surrounded by mostly Black fans, I felt a sense of belonging that I had never experienced before at a boyband show. It was a special and emotional experience that I will never forget.

That being said, I don’t want to discount the positive experiences I have had at shows like O-Town. The guys in the band have been incredibly kind and welcoming to me since I started attending their shows more frequently in August 2022. I have enjoyed getting to know them and appreciate the effort they put into connecting with their fans.

--

--

Samantha Jackson

community organizer / intersectional feminist / Take That & NKOTB fan / fashion enthusiast